The winner of the 2012 Marco Biagi Award is Diego Marcelo Ledesma Iturbide (Buenos Aires University) for his paper, Una propuesta para la reformulación de la conceptualización tradicional de la relación de trabajo a partir del relevamiento de su especificidad jurídica. This paper is a sophisticated and insightful discussion of legal conceptions of the employment relationship. It explores emerging problems with current conceptions as employment relationships become more complex in the global environment and suggests a new approach to the issue. Click here to read the full announcement.

About the Marco Biagi Award

This is an annual award for the best paper on comparative or international labor law by a young scholar.  The award is sponsored by the International Association of Labour Law Journals (IALLJ), a consortium of 21 of the leading labour law journals from around the world. The award is named for Marco Biagi, a founder of the IALLJ and one of the world’s most prominent labour law scholars, when he was assassinated in 2002 by the Red Brigade for his prominent role in labour law reform in Italy.

Prior Recipients of the Award

2011 – By the deadline of March 30, 2011, six papers had been submitted, from the United Kingdom, France, Spain, Turkey, The Netherlands, and Hungary, studying and comparing labour and social law in international dimension, in China, Nigeria and Togo. An academic jury composed of Professors Manfred Weiss, Matthew Finkin and Gian Guido Balandi evaluated the papers and decided as follows:

The winners of the Marco Biagi Award for 2011 are: Beryl Ter Haar, Attila Kun, and Manuel Antonio Garcia-Muñoz Alhambra, for their paper Soft On The Inside; Hard For The Outside. An Analysis Of The Legal Nature Of New Forms Of International Labour Law. To read the full 2011 Marco Biagi Award announcement, please click here.

2010 – Virginie Yanpelda, (Université de Douala, Cameroun) for Travail décent et diversité des rapports de travail.

Especially signalled  – Marco Peruzzi (University of Verona, Italy), for Autonomy in the european social dialogue.

2009 – Orsola Razzolini (Bocconi University, Italy), for The Need to Go Beyond the Contract: “Economic” and “Bureaucratic” Dependence in Personal Work Relations, accepted for the Comparative Labor Law & Policy Journal.