Marco Biagi Award

Call for Papers
For the 2023 Marco Biagi Award

To stimulate scholarly activity and broaden academic interest in comparative labour and employment law, the International Association of Labour Law Journals announces a Call for Papers for the 2023 Marco Biagi Award. The award is named in honor of the late Marco Biagi, a distinguished labour lawyer, victim of terrorism because of his commitment to civil rights, and one of the founders of the Association. The Call is addressed to doctoral students, advanced professional students, and academic researchers in the early stage of their careers (that is, with no more than three years of post-doctoral or teaching experience).

  1. The Call requests papers concerning comparative and/or international labour or employment law and employment relations, broadly conceived. Research of an empirical nature within the Call’s purview is most welcome.
  2. Submissions will be evaluated by an academic jury to be appointed by the Association. Submitted papers should include an abstract.
  3. The paper chosen as the winner of the award will be assured publication in a member journal, subject to any revisions requested by that journal.
  4. Papers may be submitted preferably in English, but papers in French or Spanish will also be accepted. The maximum length is in the range of 12,500 words, including footnotes and appendices. Substantially longer papers will not be considered.
  5. The author or authors of the paper chosen as the winner of the award will be invited to present the work at the Association’s 2022 meeting which is to be announced soon on the website of the Association. Efforts are being undertaken to provide an honarium and travel expenses for the presentation of the paper. Until that effort bears fruit, however, the Association hopes that home institutional funds would be available to support the researcher’s presentation.
  6. The deadline for submission is 31 March 2022. Submissions should be sent electronically in Microsoft Word both to Lavoro e diritto at and to Frank Hendrickx, the President of the Association, at and his secretary:

Website of the IALLJ:

Prior Recipients of the Marco Biagi Award

2021: Despoina Georgiou, Digital Platforms and the World of Work: Towards a Fairer Re-Distribution of Risks
2021: Nastazja Potocka-Sionek, How to regulate ‘digital piecework’? Lessons from global supply chains
2020: Harry Stylogiannis, Platform work and the human rights to freedom of association and collective bargaining
2019: Giovanni Gaudio, Adapting labour law to complex organisational settings of the enterprise. Why re-thinking the concept of employer is not enough
2018: Matteo Avogaro, New perspectives for workers’ organizations in a changing technological and societal environment
2017: Nicolas Bueno, From the right to work to the freedom from work
2016: Mimi Zou, Towards Exit and Voice: Redesiging Temporary Migrant Workers’s Programmes
2015: Uladzislau Belavusau (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, the Netherlands), A Penalty Card for Homophobia from EU Labor Law: Comment on Asociaţia ACCEPT (C-81/12)
2014: Lilach Lurie (Bar-Ilan University, Israel), Do Unions Promote Gender Equality?

Special Commendation: Isabelle Martin (University of Montreal, Canada), Corporate Social Responsibility as Work Law? A Critical Assessment in the Light of the Principle of Human Dignity
2013: Aline Van Bever (University of Leuven, Belgium), The Fiduciary Nature of the Employment Relationship
2012: Diego Marcelo Ledesma Iturbide (Buenos Aires University, Argentina), Una propuesta para la reformulación de la conceptualización tradicional de la relación de trabajo a partir del relevamiento de su especificidad jurídica

Special Commendation: Apoorva Sharma (National Law University, Delhi, India), Towards an Effective Definition of Forced Labor
2011: Beryl Ter Haar (Universiteit Leiden, the Netherlands), Attila Kun (Károli Gáspár University, Hungary) & Manuel Antonio Garcia-Muñoz Alhambra (University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain), Soft on the Inside; Hard for the Outside. An Analysis of the Legal Nature of New Forms of International Labour Law

Special Commendation: Mimi Zou (Oxford University, Great Britain), Labour Relations With “Chinese Characteristics”? Chinese Labour Law at an Historic Crossroad
2010: Virginie Yanpelda (Université de Douala, Cameroun), Travail décent et diversité des rapports de travail

Special Commendation: Marco Peruzzi (University of Verona, Italy), Autonomy in the European social dialogue

(Association’s Award prior to naming as Marco Biagi Award)

2009: Orsola Razzolini (Bocconi University, Italy), The Need to Go Beyond the Contract: “Economic” and “Bureaucratic” Dependence in Personal Work Relations