2016 MARCO

The IALLJ announces a Call for Papers for the 2016 Marco Biagi Award. The Call requests papers concerning comparative and/or international labour or employment law and employment relations, broadly conceived. The paper chosen will be assured publication in a member journal, and the author or authors will be invited to present the work at the Association’s 2016 meeting. The deadline for submission is March 31, 2016.

Click here for more details.

2014 Yearbook | About the Association | New Members | Past Annual Meetings | Current Officers & Contact Information

Yearbook of Comparative Labour Law Scholarship 2014

The International Association of Labour Law Journals (IALLJ) is delighted to announce the publication of the Yearbook of Comparative Labour Law Scholarship 2014.

A collaborative project of the IALLJ and the International Society for Labour and Social Security Law (ISLSSL), the Yearbook will bring to a wider audience some of the best in recent labour and employment law scholarship from around the world. This edition of the Yearbook — offered in both softcover and e-book formats — is the inaugural volume in an anticipated series.

For more information and Table of Contents, or to purchase the Yearbook, please visit the Lancaster House online bookstore.

About the Association

2015 IALLJ
Annual Meeting

During the IALLJ meeting in Leuven (June 2015), Frank Hendrickx, Professor of Labour Law at the University of Leuven (Belgium) has been appointed as the next President of the IALLJ. The presidency runs for three years.

The International Association of Labour Law Journals (IALLJ) was established for the following purposes:

  1. Advancing research and scholarship in the fields of labour and employment law;
  2. Encouraging the exchange of information regarding all aspects of the publishing process;
  3. Promoting closer relations among editors of national and international labour and employment law journals.

The late renowned Professor Marco Biagi of the University of Modena, Italy was the first President, and was instrumental in establishing the Association as a Club of Labour Law Journals. During the tenure (2004-2007) of his successor, Jeffrey Sack, Q.C., the Club was reconstituted as an Association, and its membership expanded from 12 to 21 Journals. At the same time, the website for the Assocation was established. As of 2015, there are 27 member journals.

Papers prepared for Association meetings are published by the Comparative Labour Law & Policy Journal and by The International Journal of Comparative Labour Law and Industrial Relations.

New Members

During the 2015 Leuven meeting, two new Journals have been admitted as members:

  • Delavci in delodajalci – Revija za delovno pravo in pravo socialne varnosti (Employees & Employers – Labour Law and Social Security Review) (Slovenia)
  • Derecho de las Relaciones Laborales (Spain)

Detailed information of these Journals will be provided soon.

Past Annual Meetings

The Association meets annually in different countries, at a meeting hosted by the journal for that country. Recent meetings have been held at:

  • Dublin, Ireland (2014)
  • Bordeaux, France (2013)
  • Philadelphia, USA (2012)
  • Seville, Spain (2011)
  • Herstmonceux, England (2010)
  • Sydney, Australia (2009)
  • Warwick, UK (2008)
  • Bologna, Italy (2007)
  • Paris, France (2006)
  • Toronto, Canada (2005)
  • Modena, Italy (2004)
  • Madrid, Spain (2003)
  • Philadelphia, USA (2002)
  • Brussels, Belgium (2001)
  • Modena, Italy (2000)

To view the minutes for the 2014 Annual Meeting, please click here. The minutes and programs of past annual meetings are available on the Association Documents page.

Current Officers and Contact Information

The current president is Frank Hendrickx of the University of Leuven Law Faculty.

To contact the Association:

Prof. Dr. Frank Hendrickx, IALLJ President
University of Leuven
Institute for Labour Law
Blijde Inkomststraat 17, bus 3423
3000 Leuven
Tel: +32 (0) 16 32 51 66
Fax: +32 (0) 16 32 52 50
E-mail: frank.hendrickx@law.kuleuven.be

For enquiries and comments:

Alicja Olszewski, IALLJ Webmaster
c/o Lancaster House Publishing
1881 Yonge Street, Suite 200
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
M4S 3C4
Telephone: (416) 977-6618
Fax: (416) 977-5873
E-mail: aolszewski@lancasterhouse.com